
The fire: Give it air! 
The right amount of air gives you a hotter fire 
and more complete combustion. That translates 
to more heat from your wood and less smoke 
and pollution. Here are some cleaner burning 
tips:  

  Build small, hot fires. Don't add too much 
fuel at one time.  

  Step outside and check the chimney or 
flue. If you can see smoke, your fire may 
need more air. 

  Read and follow the stove manufacturer's 
instructions. 

  Don’t “bank” the stove full of wood and 
damper down the air supply. This wastes 
wood, produces much air pollution, 
promotes accumulation of creosote (which 
requires more frequent cleaning and can 
lead to chimney fires) and yields very little 
heat. Half-full is adequate; it provides 
enough air space for efficient combustion.  

  Don’t damper down too far. Allow enough 
air to reach the wood. This varies among 
models and kinds of stoves.  

  Make sure your stove is the right size for 
your home. Too large a stove will overheat 
your living space. You’ll want to damper 
down. This causes added pollution and 
wastes wood.  

  Don’t burn in moderate temperatures. 
You’ll want to damper down, which causes 
more pollution and wastes wood.  

  Don’t burn when air currents carry your 
smoke to your neighbor’s yard or house.  

  Only burn dry, seasoned firewood, never 
garbage. Burning garbage is illegal in the 
state of Washington and creates a greater 
health hazard.  

 

Programs & Services: 
The Southwest Clean Air Agency offers 
information and assistance to individuals, 
homeowners and businesses in the following 
areas:  
 

Public Information & Education 

Complaint Response & Enforcement 

Outdoor Burning 

Wood Stoves 

Asbestos 

Business Assistance 

Air Operating Permits 

New Source Permitting 

 

 
 
 

For More Information: 
Contact the Southwest Clean Air Agency: 

11815 NE 99th Street, Suite 1294 
Vancouver, WA  98682-2322 

Phone (360) 574-3058 
Fax (360) 576-0925 
www.swcleanair.org 
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Wood  
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We take pride in our quality of life in 
Washington State. And we all want to 
protect and preserve the environment. 
This information describes ways each 
wood heat user can help reduce air 
pollution. Even veteran wood heat users 
can find ways to have a cleaner burn. 
Less smoke means cleaner air for you, 
your family, your neighbors and the 
environment. And the less smoke you 
produce, the more heat and value you 
get from your wood.  



The fuel: Keep it dry! 
Wood can seem dry and still contain plenty of 
water, up to 50 percent. The moisture in wood 
makes the fire give off more smoke. On the 
other hand, dry wood can provide up to 44 
percent more heat. It is against state law to burn 
wood with more than 20 percent moisture 
content in fireplaces or wood stoves.  

Two things work very well at making sure your 
wood is dry enough: time and cover. Whether 
you buy wood or harvest your own, follow these 
tips to get it fire-ready:  

  Split it. The wood will dry best and burn 
most efficiently if the pieces are three and 
one-half to six inches in diameter.  

  Cover it. Protect the wood from rain and 
weather. Stack it loosely—in layers of 
alternating directions— to allow plenty of air 
circulation. Store it at least six inches off the 
ground.  

  Give it a year. Wood that has been split, 
dried and stored under cover for at least one 
year usually meets the 20 percent moisture 
content requirement.  

State law does not regulate the dryness of any 
wood sold. If the seller states that the wood is 
dry or seasoned, consider it a claim; make sure 
for yourself. You--and not the seller--are 
responsible for the dryness of the wood you put 
on your fire.  

The fuel: Keep it legal!  
Dry, untreated wood is legal. Manufactured logs 
(pressed sawdust or sawdust/wax) are legal, but 
be careful to follow the product instructions and 
to follow the recommendations in your stove 
owner's manual. Coal with less than one percent 
sulfur is legal in a coal-only stove.  

 

State law prohibits burning the following in a 
solid fuel burning device:  

  garbage (including diapers); 
  plastic or rubber products; 
  treated wood (including particle or strand 

board); 
  asphalt-based or waste petroleum products;  
  paints and chemicals; 
  animal carcasses;  
  anything else which normally emits dense 

smoke or obnoxious odors.  

Paper is legal only for starting the fire. 

The smoke: There’s a state law on 
how much! 
State law limits the density of smoke from indoor 
fires to ensure that people use clean burning 
techniques. This requirement is called the 20 
percent smoke opacity limit.  

Opacity means how much your view through the 
smoke is blocked.  

100 percent opacity means you can't see 
anything through the smoke. 20 percent opacity 
means there is very little smoke and you can 
see almost perfectly through it. If you use dry 
enough fuel, the right equipment, and give your 
fire the right amount of air, there should be no 
visible smoke from your chimney or stove pipe--
only heat waves.  

There are two exceptions to the opacity rule 
which allow you limited time for denser smoke:  

  Starting the fire. You have up to 20 
minutes every four hours.  

  Stoking the fire. You have up to six 
consecutive minutes in any one hour 
period.  

If you are burning properly you 
can see the difference.  
Proper: A hot, clean-burning fire 

 
 

Improper: A smoldering, dampered-down fire 

 
 

Smoke from burning can be a health hazard and 
a nuisance, particularly in cold weather. During 
cold, stagnant weather, smoke tends to stay at 
ground level, increasing pollution to unhealthy 
levels and making it difficult to breathe for those 
with respiratory ailments such as asthma. 


